Most ASAL counties received less than 50 percent of average rainfall with most parts of Marsabit, Wajir, Garissa, Isiolo, Kajiado, Tana River, and Turkana receiving less than 25 percent of average amounts of rainfall during the month of June. As of the end of June 2021, counties experiencing vegetation deficit included Marsabit, Garissa, Isiolo, Tana River, Wajir, and Kilifi. The six counties experienced moderate vegetation deficit except for Isiolo that is in the severe vegetation deficit band.
On the basis of the range of indicators, twelve (12) counties namely Marsabit, Mandera, Garissa, Wajir, Kilifi, Tana River, Lamu, Samburu, Kitui, Lamu, Isiolo, and Laikipia are in the alert drought phase while Eleven (11) counties reported Normal drought phase as at the end of June.

It is projected that the drought situation will worsen between July and November 2021, with negative consequences for household food security, crop and livestock production, access to water, the nutritional status of children, and local coping strategies.

National monthly drought update - July 2021