The drought situation continued to worsen in twenty (20) of the 23 ASAL counties. The number of counties in the Alarm stage of drought has increased from five (5) in May to eight (8) in June 2022. The counties in Alarm drought phase are Mandera, Marsabit, Wajir, Laikipia, Tharaka Nithi, Turkana, Samburu and Isiolo while twelve (12) counties including Garissa, Kajiado, Kitui, Makueni, Meru, Taita Taveta, Tana River, Nyeri, Embu, Turkana, Kwale and Kilifi are in Alert drought phase.

This is attributed to the poor performance of the 2021 short rains coupled with previous two failed consecutive seasons and early cessation of the 2022 long rains season.

Three counties namely Narok, West Pokot (except Sigor sub-county) and Baringo (except Tiaty sub-county) are in Normal drought phase. 

National drought early warning bulletin - July 2022