By end of April, the number of counties in the alarm drought stage had increased to ten from five in March. Another 11 counties are currently at the alert drought level. Counties classified in the alarm drought phase include: Wajir, Mandera, Garissa, Marsabit, Turkana, West Pokot, Tana River, Samburu, Kilifi and Baringo.
The National drought update for May 2019 indicates that the delayed onset of March to May long rains and the poor rainfall performance has aggravated shortage of water and pasture and also had an adverse effect on farming activities across ASAL counties.